First attempt at a digital story: Tales of Wooragee

 

 

Well, here it is: made using Audacity and Photostory 3. The story, documents and main pictures are from our family history, with the house and views of Wooragee borrowed from the net – sorry I can’t attribute them directly; the boys with the snake is by Grey Villet and appeared in ‘Life’ Magazine; the image of the brown snake is from Melbourne Museum; the music is mine. The poem is an adaptation of a piece written at Nettlecombe Manor during a ‘National Writing Project in Somerset and Wiltshire’ writing weekend during the late 1980s. Sadly, although the original has stuck in my mind, I cannot recall the writer.

The hardest part was trying to synchronise the sound and images. In the end, I tried running the preview of the video whilst recording one long take on Audacity. I had to fiddle around and re-record one section which I then edited back in. I added a couple of sections of silence (the only way I could think of getting one section to line up better).  There seemed to be more ‘luck’ then judgment, and I now know I need to look more closely at my understanding of Audacity.

I read a piece earlier today (which I must find again) suggested doing sound first and then adding images. I worked the other way round on this one, so perhaps when I do the next one (???!) using Moviemaker I’ll try that out.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “First attempt at a digital story: Tales of Wooragee

  1. Gareth Morlais

    Looking good. Agree: I’ve always found it easier to record the audio of the story first and then fit the pictures. You could possibly keep images on screen for longer (fewer cuts and zooms), speak the script a little faster with fewer gaps. Your music works really well. Also, re snake story, I think it would’ve been OK not to show the snake. I.e. you don’t need to have images to suit every part of the story.

  2. s3atlarge

    Thanks for taking a look. Photostory 3 seems to work best working what feels to me to be the wrong way round: you can assemble pictures and then record and it will trim them to fit the length of speech. later, you can then add transitions. It felt a bit like when word-processors were first introduced – the temptation is to use everything available!

  3. janet roper nee hansen

    My family too came from Scotland. The Edmondson’s and I am just finding out where they lived and tracing the family history . I came upon your site by chance. Beautiful, through your quiet description of your family’ memory i can reflect on how the Edmondson’s may have been.

Leave a Reply

